My Typical Morning.. (and got carried away)

So after realizing it was too late to be early, I got up and turned on the computer, a little sad.

Every early morning, I go and release the dogs. I’d take the blanket off of the gate next to the garage, and open the gate quickly. Immediately Pepper and Rokan come out all happy, sometimes surprised, since I’d come up to them without them noticing. Then, I’d open the garage so Tiger could get out, then unhook the leash, and they’d all go off at full speed around the front of the house.

Tiger would mark his territory everywhere, Pepper would run to the front door hoping it was open, and sometimes it was, and Rokan would go to the fig tree and eat the fallen figs. I’d go follow Tiger around seeing that he doesn’t defecate near the neighbors’ door, then I’d have to go inside the house and get Pepper out, then I’d have to go to the fig tree and bring down some good figs for Rokan. Then I’d repeat myself.

Three in every five mornings, Pepper attempts to escape into the street, and two in every three of those five mornings, she does. Rokan is a momma’s boy, so he’ll follow, and Tiger would join his sister just because. Then, they’d run almost full speed, marking territory and whatnot, and simply turn the corner and go on. I’d stay calm, never get mad, and wait for a while before walking, then walk. if they went too far, I’d wait longer… I’m always emotionally prepared for the moment any of them get hit by a car or get attacked by a bigger dog. I’d walk.

The dogs would eventually start heading home, but not cause they wanna go home, just because. When they see me, they cross the street and run home. They’d go through the now open gate, and not get out till I return. that’s when I run. I’d tie Tiger back, and the other two go to the side of the garage.

They know they did something bad, and they expect me to smack them or something. In the past I’d threaten them with a plastic bag, but never truly hurt them. I still never do. I’d put all the anger and worry aside, and hold them. Everything would be good, and I’d head inside the house…

…but when I got home, there was blood. Three bodies on the ground, in puddles of blood. My parents,and my sister! The fishes Arnold and Anchovie were also floating in bowls of blood, and, at the center of the kitchen wall, there was a note. I walked too slowly to the note, past my father. My sister was beneath where the note was, and I couldn’t.. I was sweating cold, completely, and finally had a hold of the note. I pulled it, and read it.

“We found you. Make your move.”

It was signed: Lance Z., King of the West.

This was it. The real fight has just begun. I ran to the back of the garage and threw down a bunch of clothes and boxes that were in the way of a drawer, then moved the drawer. There was a hole. I jumped in, and immediately all the things that had been knocked over floated back into place.

I forgot to feed the dogs…

(to be continued…)

Leave a Reply

